Alternatives to deodorant 

Okay, just to give you the low down on my perspiration, I am the sweatiest person I know. I have suffered from hyperhydrosis everysince I could remember, perhaps from middle school and onwards. I have tried all deodorants from medicated, high-strength and crystals and I always just sweat. 

I have learned over the years that season makes no difference in my level of sweating, specifically underarm, hands and back sweat. Perhaps this is related to a nervousness inside of me that never seems to fade. I must tell you that I am a TV presenter and a teacher, so I’m always in front of people, be it a camera or a classroom. I always sweat like a beast and it’s just darn embarrassing. I’ve been doing what I do for over 2 years and nothing has changed. The nervous feeling never goes away and does it have anything to do with my perspiration? I don’t know at this point. I heard about Botox for pits but that’s a bit extreme for me.

I have tried Secret, Dove and Mitchum deodorants to no avail. So as of the summer of 2015, I decided to stop wearing anti-perspirants and went back to the crystal. I apply it after my shower or bath and that’s that. Summer’s here in Ukraine are HOT and although I sweat like a pig, I always have anti-bacterial wipes on hand. Is it just me or do local people just not sweat as much? I find that no matter how much I sweat there, as long as I keep the bacteria from building up, I’m okay. It seemed like a lot of maintanence at first but I got used to it. I may wipe them two or three times a day in the summer months. I still have to choose colors wisely for the underarm sweat not to show so much. I have tried all fabrics and it doesn’t matter if I wear natural or sythetic material, I SWEAT! In summer, I wear a lot of whites and navy. Anything pastel or gray is a NO WAY! 

Leave a Reply

